KAHLA kreativ

The non-profit Günther Raithel Foundation - Educational Initiative KAHLA kreativ sees itself as providing creative momentum for young talent. The foundation is dedicated to the advancement of education, culture, science and research related to porcelain and similar materials. Its work focuses on the "KAHLA kreativ" project, which promotes young ceramists, designers, artists and students. In workshops, creative talents have the opportunity to explore new ways of porcelain production and porcelain design whereby updating this cultural skill through innovative approaches.

Board of Directors:
Günther Raithel, Founder
Rositta Raithel
Holger Raithel

KAHLA kreativ, Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla Porcelain
 
 

KAHLA kreativ 2018 – 7th International Porcelain Workshop "Tasting Tomorrow"

 

After four weeks of artistic and innovative creativity, the results of the 7th International Porcelain Workshop KAHLA kreativ were showcased on July 6, 2018 at a forum that took place in the industrial setting of the production facilities at KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH. In front of a high-profile audience from the worlds of culture, design, business, politics and media, a panel of experts discussed current trends in food culture, the potential future direction of the development of taste and food and what the dining culture of tomorrow might look like.

Under the motto TASTING TOMORROW, the workshop, initiated by the Günther Raithel Foundation and hosted with the support of sponsors, inspired the participants to experiment with porcelain while exploring the topic of food. In light of the upcoming 100th Bauhaus anniversary in 2019, the idea was to establish connections to the ground-breaking work done at this institution in the subject area at the crossroads of art and craftsmanship.

"Porcelain and food have an almost symbiotic relationship: the former serves as a vessel, stage or inspiration for the latter; and their textures, development process and processing methods, and finally their transformation through heat or fire are similar.

Tasting Tomorrow, the 7th International Porcelain Workshop KAHLA kreativ, aims to be a platform for the experimental work with porcelain in the context of exploring food. One year before the Bauhaus celebrates its 100th anniversary, the workshop seeks to develop new ways of linking cooking and eating to work and life and the objects it requires – just like it was done at this institution."Prof. Barbara Schmidt

KAHLA kreativ Forum 2018
 
KAHLA kreativ 2018 Forum

In his speech, Thuringian Minister of Economic Affairs Wolfgang Tiefensee, the patron of the workshop, emphasised the need for companies to provide young people with the freedom and space to develop independent ideas. This leads to innovations that will be successful in the future.

Selected works will be shown to a larger audience in the Bauhaus year 2019. The results of the 7th International Porcelain Workshop are going on the road and will be on display in several museums: Porzellanikon, Selb; Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt, Halle; and Belvedere Palace, Weimar. Additional exhibitions are planned and will be announced in time on www.kahla-kreativ.com.

 
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
 
 

 

Participants of the workshop are:

Auréline Caltagirone (France), Mieke Cuppen (The Netherlands), Carmen Dehning (Germany), Laura Görs (Germany), Anna Kantanen (Finland), Aneta Koutná (Germany/Czech Republic), Raili Keiv (Estonia), Xin Zhe Luo (Germany/China), Antje Pesel (Germany), Jonathan Radetz (Germany), Birgit Severin (Germany), Maurice Eric Zacher (Germany)

KAHLA kreativ 2018 Porcelain Workshop
 
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop, 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
 

"The in-depth exploration of ceramic materials by the applicants can be understood as a counter-trend to the increasing complexity of our digitised everyday life", says Wiebke Lang, editor-in-chief of the trade magazine designreport. "The high quality of the submissions demonstrates that young designers and artists are well aware that a contemporary design of traditional areas of life - such as the food culture - will continue to significantly influence our quality of life in the future."

Andrin Willi, editor-in-chief of marmite, Zurich, the magazine for food and drink, emphasised both the high quality of the submitted works and also the fact that many applicants had already explored the topic to a great extent in advance. "Eating is pop", he says and adds that these days top chefs may regard the creation of customised table top series for their restaurants almost as a matter of course. "When a new dish is created, the presentation plays a more important role today than ever before", says the food journalist, because the photos of these dishes, which are distributed by the guests via social media instantly and worldwide, are the new business cards of the restaurant industry.

More at KAHLA kreativ Website »

KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ 2018 "Tasting Tomorrow"
 
KAHLA kreativ Foodworkshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Pocelain Workshop 2018
 
Jury KAHLA kreativ 2018, Günther-Raithel-Foundation

The jury included:

(from left to right)
Wiebke Lang (DE), editor-in-chief of designreport, Frankfurt / Main
Wilhelm Siemen (DE), director of the Porzellanikon State Museum of Porcelain, Selb
Dr. Sibylle Hoiman (DE), curator at Bauhaus Archive / Museum of Design Berlin
Andrin Willi (CH), editor-in-chief of marmite, the magazine for food and drink, Zurich
Prof. Barbara Schmidt (DE), designer at KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH

Host Günther Raithel
(DE), Founder and Chairman Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla

 

 

The 7th International Porcelain Workshop KAHLA kreativ was supported by the Free State of Thuringia, the Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt, the Porzellanikon in Selb, the Thüringer Tourismus GmbH, the Sparkasse Jena-Saale-Holzland, Bauhaus 100 and Naber Küchen. The support of these partners enables the Günther Raithel Foundation to provide a cross-cultural stage for artists and designers.

KAHLA kreativ 2018 "Tasting Tomorrow"
 
 
KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla porcelain - image 3
Table Tales

Table Tales - The way to the heart is through the stomach - Clip Award 2012

KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla porcelain - image 4
INVENT

5th International Workshop 2010

additional Missions

In addition, the foundation organises contests, such as the KAHLA Clip Award 2012 short film contest.

Besides exhibitions, it also organises and supports scientific symposiums and other educational events. In addition, the foundation awards research grants and foreign exchange scholarships to further the advancement of young designers.

Another focus is the scientific examination of the history of Thuringian porcelain, in particular porcelain from KAHLA.

www.kahlakreativ.com

 
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
 
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porzellan, Porcelain
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
 
KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla porcelain - image 5
KAHLA-Kreativ Exhibition

 GRASSI Museum Leipzig 2010

KAHLA kreativ, Günther Raithel Foundation, Kahla porcelain - Image 2
20 Hotel Dreams

4th International Design Contest 2006

 
 

Championing Modernisation

The foundation owes its name to Günther Raithel who re-founded KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH in 1994. As "VEB Feinkeramik", the company was the centre of the national porcelain industry in the GDR. Shortly after the reunification, it was privatised by the Treuhand trustee company, but filed for bankruptcy already two years later. Raithel accomplished a fresh start for the company through the consistent modernisation of production, product range and marketing. Today KAHLA, under the management of Raithel's son Holger, is one of Germany's most successful porcelain manufacturers.

KAHLA-Kreativ, KAHLA Porzellan, porcelain
 
 
Facebook
Instagram
Pinterest
Youtube

KAHLA kreativ

Die  gemeinnützige „Günther Raithel Stiftung – Bildungsinitiative KAHLA kreativ“ versteht sich als Impulsgeber für junge Talente. Sie widmet sich der Förderung von Bildung, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Forschung rund um Porzellan sowie verwandte Materialien. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Durchführung des Projekts „KAHLA kreativ", das junge Keramiker, Designer, Künstler und Studenten fördert. Im Rahmen von Workshops ermöglicht es den Kreativen beispielsweise, neue Wege der Porzellanherstellung und -gestaltung auszuprobieren und diese Kulturtechnik so durch innovative Ansätze zu erneuern.

Vorstand:
Günther Raithel, der Stifter
Rositta Raithel
Holger Raithel

KAHLA kreativ, Günther Raithel Stiftung, Kahla Porzellan
 
 

KAHLA kreativ 2018 – 7. Internationaler Porzellanworkshop "Tasting Tomorrow"

 

Nach vier Wochen künstlerischen und innovativen Schaffens wurden am 6. Juli 2018 im Rahmen eines Forums im Umfeld der Produktionsräume der KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH die Ergebnisse des 7. Internationalen Porzellanworkshops KAHLA kreativ präsentiert. Vor einem hochkarätigen Publikum aus Kultur, Designwelt, Wirtschaft, Politik und Medien diskutierte eine Expertenrunde über aktuelle Trends der Esskultur, wie sich Geschmack und Essen zukünftig entwickeln könnten und wie daraus abgeleitet die Tischkultur von morgen aussehen könnte.

Unter dem Motto TASTING TOMORROW regte der von der Günther Raithel Stiftung initiierte und zusammen mit Sponsoren finanzierte Workshop zur experimentellen Arbeit mit Porzellan in der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Essen an.

"Porzellan und Nahrung gehen eine oft fast symbiotische Verbindung ein: Das Eine dient als Gefäß, Umgebung oder Inspiration für das Andere, aber auch Konsistenzen, Entwicklungsprozess und Verarbeitungstechniken und schließlich die Transformation durch Feuer, die beide durchlaufen, sind Gemeinsamkeiten.

Tasting Tomorrow, der 7. Internationale Porzellanworkshop KAHLA kreativ, soll eine Plattform bieten für die experimentelle Arbeit mit Porzellan in Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Essen. Vor dem Hintergrund des bevorstehenden hundertjährigen Bauhausjubiläums 2019 sollten Anknüpfungspunkte an die wegweisende Arbeit zum Themenfeld an dieser Institution zwischen Kunst und Handwerk gefunden werden." – Prof. Barbara Schmidt

KAHLA kreativ Forum 2018
 
KAHLA kreativ 2018 Forum

In seiner Rede verwies Thüringens Wirtschaftsminister Wolfgang Tiefensee, welcher gleichzeitig die Schirmherrschaft über den Workshop hatte, auf die Notwendigkeit von Unternehmen, jungen Menschen den Freiraum zur unabhängigen Ideenfindung zu bieten. Nur so können Innovationen entstehen, die in Zukunft erfolgreich zum Tragen kommen.

Einem größeren Publikum werden ausgewählte Werke dann im Bauhaus-Jahr 2019 gezeigt. Die Ergebnisse des 7. Internationalen Porzellanworkshops gehen auf Wanderschaft und werden in den Museen Porzellanikon, Selb, Kunststiftung Sachsen Anhalt, Halle und im Schloss Belvedere, Weimar zu sehen sein. Weitere Stationen sind geplant und werden rechtzeitig auf der Website www.kahlakreativ.com bekannt gegeben.

 
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
 
 

 

Für die Teilnahme am Workshop wurden eingeladen:

Auréline Caltagirone (Frankreich), Mieke Cuppen (Niederlande), Carmen Dehning (Deutschland), Laura Görs (Deutschland), Anna Kantanen (Finnland), Raili Keiv (Estland), Aneta Koutná (Tschechische Republik), Xin Zhe Luo (China), Antje Pesel (Deutschland), Jonathan Radetz (Deutschland), Birgit Severin (Deutschland) und Maurice E. Zacher (Deutschland).

KAHLA kreativ 2018 Porcelain Workshop
 
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop, 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
 

„Die intensive Auseinandersetzung der Bewerber mit keramischen Materialien lässt sich als Gegentrend zur zunehmenden Komplexität unseres digitalisierten Alltags verstehen“, sagt Wiebke Lang, Chefredakteurin des Fachmagazins designreport. „Die hohe Qualität der Einreichungen demonstriert das Bewusstsein junger Designer und Künstler dafür, dass eine zeitgemäße Gestaltung traditioneller Lebensbereiche – wie der Esskultur – unsere Lebensqualität auch zukünftig maßgeblich beeinflusst.“

Andrin Willi, Chefredakteur von marmite, Zürich, der Zeitschrift für Ess- und Trinkkultur, strich neben der hohen Qualität der eingereichten Arbeiten ebenso die Tatsache heraus, dass sich viele Bewerberinnen und Bewerber bereits im Vorfeld intensiv mit dem Thema auseinandergesetzt hatten. „Essen ist Pop“, sagt er und fügt an, dass Spitzenköche die Entwicklung von individuellen Table-Top-Serien für ihre Restaurants beinahe schon als Selbstverständlichkeit erachten würden. „Bei der Kreation eines neuen Gerichts spielt die Präsentation heute eine wichtigere Rolle denn je“, weiß der Foodjournalist, denn die Fotos dieser Gerichte, die durch die Gäste via Social Media blitzschnell weltweit verbreitet würden, seien die neuen Visitenkarten der Gastronomie.

 

Zur KAHLA kreativ Webseite »

KAHLA kreativ Porzellan Workshop, Porcelain Workshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ 2018 "Tasting Tomorrow"
 
KAHLA kreativ Foodworkshop 2018
KAHLA kreativ Pocelain Workshop 2018
 
Jury KAHLA kreativ 2018, Günther-Raithel-Stiftung

Zur Jury gehörten (im Bild von links nach rechts):

Wiebke Lang (DE), Chefredakteurin designreport, Frankfurt am Main; Wilhelm Siemen (DE), Direktor Porzellanikon Staatliches Museum für Porzellan, Selb; Dr. Sibylle Hoiman (DE), Kuratorin Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin; Andrin Willi (CH), Chefredakteur Food-Zeitschrift marmite, Zürich; Prof. Barbara Schmidt (DE), Designerin der KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH;

Gastgeber Günther Raithel
(DE), Vorstandsvorsitzender der Günther Raithel Stiftung und Gesellschafter der KAHLA/ Thüringen Porzellan GmbH

Auswahlkriterien waren vor allem gestalterische Qualitäten, konzeptionelle und formale Stärke, Eigenständigkeit sowie ein durchdringender Zugang zum Material. Darüber hinaus wurden innovative, kreative Ansätze zum Thema „Nahrungsaufnahme der Zukunft“ berücksichtigt. Da das Ziel des Wettbewerbs nicht nur die Würdigung bestehender Werke, sondern die Entstehung neuer, innovativer Ideen und Produkte ist, legte die Jury bei der Zusammenstellung der Workshop-TeilnehmerInnen Wert auf Vielfalt – also unterschiedliche gestalterische Perspektiven und Hintergründe, die sich gegenseitig befruchten können.

 

 

 

 

Der 7. Internationale Porzellanworkshop KAHLA kreativ wurde vom Freistaat Thüringen, der Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt, dem Porzellanikon in Selb, der Thüringer Tourismus GmbH, der Sparkasse Jena-Saale-Holzland, Bauhaus 100 und Naber Küchen unterstützt. Mithilfe dieser Partner bietet die Günther Raithel Stiftung eine interkulturelle Bühne für junge Künstler und Designer.

KAHLA kreativ 2018 "Tasting Tomorrow"
 
 
KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Stiftung, Kahla Porzellan - Bild 3
Table Tales

Table Tales - Liebe geht durch den Magen - Clip Award 2012

KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Stiftung, Kahla Porzellan - Bild 4
ERFINDEN

5. Internationaler Workshop 2010

Weitere Aufgaben

Zudem führt die Stiftung Wettbewerbe durch, wie etwa den Kurzfilmwettbewerb KAHLA Clip Award 2012.

Sie veranstaltet und unterstützt neben Ausstellungen auch wissenschaftliche Symposien und andere Bildungsveranstaltungen. Außerdem vergibt sie Forschungs- und Auslandsstipendien, um junge Designer in ihrer Weiterentwicklung zu unterstützen.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt gilt der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung der Geschichte des Thüringer Porzellans, insbesondere aus Kahla.

www.kahlakreativ.com

 
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
 
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porzellan, Porcelain
KAHLA-Kreativ Workshop 2015, Porcelain, Porzellan
 
KAHLA-Kreativ, Günther Raithel Stiftung, Kahla Porzellan - Bild 5
KAHLA-Kreativ Ausstellung

 GRASSI Museum Leipzig 2010

KAHLA kreativ, Günther Raithel Stiftung, Kahla Porzellan - Bild 2
20 Hotelträume

4. Internationaler Designwettbewerb 2006

 
 

Erneuerung ist Programm

Ihren Namen verdankt die Stiftung Günther Raithel, der die KAHLA/Thüringen Porzellan GmbH im Jahr 1994 neu gründete. Das Unternehmen war zu DDR-Zeiten als „VEB Feinkeramik“ Zentrum der nationalen Porzellanindustrie. Kurz nach der Wende wurde es von der Treuhand privatisiert, ging aber schon zwei Jahre später Konkurs. Raithel schaffte den Neubeginn durch konsequente Modernisierung von Fertigung, Produktprogramm und Vermarktung. Heute zählt KAHLA unter Raithels Sohn Holger zu den erfolgreichsten Porzellananbietern Deutschlands.

KAHLA-Kreativ, KAHLA Porzellan, porcelain
 
 
Facebook
Instagram
Pinterest
Youtube